St. Paul, Minnesota

You are here


Friday, March 25th, 2022
St. Paul, Minnesota
Interviewing finalists from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin

This panel will convene at 9:00 a.m.

For the past several years, the Truman Scholars Association (an organization of Truman Scholar alumni) has hosted pre-interview dinners in the interview cities the night prior to the finalist interviews. The dinners are informal, fun, optional events for the finalists and a few Truman alumni hosts (interview panelists do not attend). The Truman Scholars Association generously sponsors the dinners for all finalists. All finalists will be contacted by their interview city’s Truman host shortly after the official finalist announcement; if you wish to attend the dinner, please plan to be available for dinner around 7 p.m. in your interview city the evening before your interview.

Panel Members

Judy Grew, Chair -- Management and Planning Supervisor, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources; 1986 Truman Scholar

Katherine Blauvelt -- Assistant Commissioner, Divison of Energy Resources, Minnesota Department of Commerce; 2001 Truman Scholar

Heidi Heitkamp -- Former U.S. Senator for North Dakota

Rachel Paulose -- Partner, DLA Piper, Former U.S. Attorney for Minnesota, 1993 Truman Scholar

Steve Simon -- Minnesota Secretary of State; 1990 Truman Scholar

Mary Margaret Smith -- Professor Emerita of Political Science, St. Catherine University

Karin Velez -- Assistant Professor of History, Macalester College; 1995 Truman Scholar

Dr. Terry Babcock-Lumish, Secretary -- Executive Secretary, Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation; 1996 Truman Scholar