Austin, Texas

You are here


Information for the 2021 cycle wil be added in fall 2020.

Wednesday, March 3rd, 2021
Austin, Texas
Interviewing finalists from Louisiana and Texas 

This panel will convene at 9:00a.m.

For the past several years, the Truman Scholars Association (an organization of Truman Scholar alumni) has hosted pre-interview dinners in the interview cities the night prior to the finalist interviews. The dinners are informal, fun, optional events for the finalists and a few Truman alumni hosts (interview panelists do not attend). The Truman Scholars Association generously sponsors the dinners for all finalists. All finalists will be contacted by their interview city’s Truman host shortly after the official finalist announcement; if you wish to attend the dinner, please plan to be available for dinner around 7 p.m. in your interview city the evening before your interview.

Panel Members

Max Sherman, Chair -- Professor and Dean Emeritus, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, University of Texas; former Texas State Senator; Vice-President, Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation
Cheryl Burtzel -- Partner, Spencer Fane LLP; 1980 Truman Scholar
Lawton Cummings -- Partner, Notley, 1992 Truman Scholar
Don Green -- Chief Financial Officer, Teachers Retirement Fund of Texas; 1977 Truman Scholar
Lisa Doggett -- Senior Medical Director, HGS-AxisPoint Health; 1994 Truman Scholar
Manuel Teodoro -- Professor, Texas A&M University; 1994 Truman Scholar
Dr. Terry Babcock-Lumish, Secretary -- Executive Secretary, Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation; 1996 Truman Scholar