Announcing the 2019 Truman Scholars

You are here

PRESS RELEASE:  Embargoed for release at 5:00pm, EST, Thursday, April 11, 2019.  

CONTACT: Kelsea Cooper, (202)395-7432 or 




April 11, 20195:00 pm; Washington, DC: Former Secretary of State Madeleine K. Albright, President of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation, announced today the names of 62 exceptional college students from 58 U.S. colleges and universities who have been selected as 2019 Truman Scholars. The Truman Scholarship is the premier graduate scholarship for aspiring public service leaders in the United States. 


The Truman Foundation was created by Congress in 1975 as the living memorial to President Truman and the Presidential Memorial to Public Service. The Foundation’s mission is premised on the belief that a better future relies on attracting to public service the commitment and sound judgment of bright, outstanding Americans. In fact, it was this belief that led President Truman, when approached by a bipartisan group of admirers near the end of his life, to encourage Congress to create a living memorial devoted to this purpose rather than a bricks and mortar monument. For forty years, the Truman Foundation has fulfilled that mission: inspiring and supporting Americans from diverse backgrounds and from across the United States to public service. 


The 62 new Truman Scholars, mostly college juniors, were selected from among 840 candidates nominated by 346 colleges and universities. This is the largest number of applicants from a record number of schools in recent history. They were chosen by sixteen independent selection panels based on the finalists’ academic success and leadership accomplishments, as well as their likelihood of becoming public service leaders.  


Selection panels met across the United States and included distinguished public service leaders, elected officials, university presidents, federal judges, and past Truman Scholarship winners. A listing of the new Scholars can be found at the Truman Foundation’s website: 


Each new Truman Scholar receives up to $30,000 for graduate study. Scholars also receive priority admission and supplemental financial aid at some premier graduate institutions, leadership training, career and graduate school counseling, and special internship opportunities within the federal government. Recipients must be U.S. citizens, have outstanding leadership potential and communication skills, demonstrate academic excellence, and be committed to careers in government or the non-profit sector. 


There have been 3,260 Truman Scholars selected since the first awards were made in 1977. Prominent Truman Scholars include Supreme Court Associate Justice Neil Gorsuch (1987), U.S. Senator Chris Coons (1983), former National Security Advisor Susan Rice (1984), U.S. Congressman Ted Deutch (1986), U.S. Congressman Dusty Johnson (1998), U.S. Congressman Andy Kim (2003)U.S. Congressman Greg Stanton (1990)New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio (1981) and former Arizona Governor Janet Napolitano (1977). Truman Scholars lead at all levels of government and in the nonprofit sector. 


The 2019 Truman Scholars will assemble May 21st for a leadership development program at William Jewell College in Liberty, Missouri, and they will receive their awards in a special ceremony at the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum in Independence, Missouri, on May 26, 2019. 


In 2019:  


  • Three institutions have a Truman Scholar for the first time: Inter American University of Puerto Rico – Arecibo, University of North Georgia, and Westminster College of Salt Lake City; 

  • Four institutions have multiple Truman Scholars; 

  • Twenty-four Scholars attend public universities; 

  • Twenty Scholars attend private research universities; 

  • Fourteen Scholars attend private liberal arts colleges; 

  • Four Scholars attend a service academy. 



For more information, please contact Kelsea Cooper at (202)395-7432 or