Truman Foundation Awards

You are here


The Truman Scholarship Foundation makes two awards each year to Truman Scholar alumni who have led distinguished careers in public service and have made significant contributions to the Truman Scholar community: 

Elmer B. Staats AwardThe Staats Award was established in 1993 in honor of Elmer B. Staats, former and long-serving Chair of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation Board of Trustees. The Award goes to a Truman Scholar who exemplifies Mr. Staats's "professionalism, contributions to public service, intellectual and analytical abilities, and integrity and character. 

Joseph E. Stevens AwardThe Stevens Award was established in 1999 in honor of Joseph E. Stevens, Jr., a former President of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation. The Award goes to a Truman Scholar who is a lawyer and has made significant contributions to public service and to the Truman Scholar community. 

All Truman Scholars are eligible to make nominations for both awards each fall, and the final selection of awardees is made by a committee of distinguished Truman Scholars each winter.