What's New?

You are here



April 16, 2014; Washington, DC:  Former Secretary of State Madeleine K. Albright, President of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation, announced today the names of 59 exceptional college students from 52 U.S. colleges and universities who have been selected as 2014 Truman Scholars.

The 59 new Truman Scholars, mostly college juniors, were selected from among 655 candidates nominated by 294 colleges and universities. They were chosen by seventeen independent selection panels on the basis of the finalists’ academic success and leadership accomplishments, as well as their likelihood of becoming public service leaders.

Selection panels met across the United States and included distinguished public service leaders, elected officials, university presidents, federal judges, and past Truman Scholarship winners. A listing of the new Scholars can be found at the Truman Foundation’s website: http://www.truman.gov.

Each new Truman Scholar receives up to $30,000 for graduate study. Scholars also receive priority admission and supplemental financial aid at some premier graduate institutions, leadership training, career and graduate school counseling, and special internship opportunities within the federal government. Recipients must be U.S. citizens, have outstanding leadership potential and communication skills, be in the top quarter of their class, and be committed to careers in government or the non-profit sector.

The Truman Scholarship Foundation was established by Congress in 1975 as the federal memorial to our thirty-third President. The Foundation awards scholarships for college students to attend graduate school in preparation for careers in government or elsewhere in public service. The activities of the Foundation are supported by a special trust fund in the US Treasury.

There have been 2,965 Truman Scholars selected since the first awards were made in 1977. The 2014 Truman Scholars will assemble May 22nd for a leadership development program at William Jewell College in Liberty, Missouri, and they will receive their awards in a special ceremony at the Truman Library in Independence, Missouri, on May 25, 2014.

In 2014:

•          4 institutions have a Truman Scholar for the first time;

•          5 institutions have multiple Truman Scholars;

•          23 Scholars attend public universities;

•          24 Scholars attend private research universities

•          10 Scholars attend private liberal arts colleges;

•          2 Scholars attend military academies

For more information, please contact: Andrew Rich at 917.922.0843 or arich@truman.gov.